h1

Jane Monheit – I Should Care

June 10, 2008

This is singing I Should Care at an episode of the show, Legends of Jazz, hosted by Ramsey Lewis. It’s a great show; how I wish there will be a new ‘season’ for it.

From the site:

I Should Care“is a popular song by Axel Stordahl, Paul Weston and Sammy Cahn, published in 1944.

The song has become a popular standard, with recordings by many artists, among them Nat King Cole, Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, Julie London, and Jane Monheit. It was also performed and recorded by Thelonius Monk, Dizzie Gillespie, Nat Adderley and the Modern Jazz Quartet.

***

I should care, I should go around weeping
I should care, I should go without sleeping
Strangely enough, I sleep well
‘cept for a dream or two
But then I count my sheep well
Funny how sheep can lull you to sleep

So I should care, I should let it upset me
I should care but it just doesn’t get me
Maybe I won’t find someone as lovely as you
But I should care and I do

Leave a comment